Week 5 – Artist Conversation – Jane Weibel

Exhibition Information

Artist: Jane Weibel
Exhibition: Psycho cycle
Media: Ceramics
Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Max L. Gatov Gallery East
Website: janeweibel.com
Instagram: janemargarette

About the Artist

Jane Weibel is a senior a Cal State University, Long Beach (CSULB). Weibel is a part of the BFA ceramics program at the university. When she graduates, she hopes to go to a graduate school such as UCLA. She hopes to go to UCLA because there are many art museums and art is very popular in LA. Aside from art, Weibel enjoys to go to escape rooms, an activity where players are trapped in a room and they have to try to escape by solving puzzles, with a group of her friends. Weibel’s favorite food is Filipino food.

Analysis 

Weibel’s exhibition is titled Psycho cycle, in which she says the name comes from the psychotic way Weibel and other women are treated, and the ‘cycle’ doesn’t stop since it women have been oppressed for many years. Weibel’s artwork is very feminist, displaying many of the problems that women deal with.  Weibel found inspiration for her art work in the gallery by being a woman in her everyday life. Weibel recalls of a time when she goes to the Home Depot and is treated differently from her male counterparts that go to Home Depot. The workers in Home Depot assume that Weibel does not know what she doing nor what she is looking for so they try to offer her extra assistance.

I found Weibel’s art to be simplistic yet portrays such a complex and meaningful message. One of the pieces of art that I found to be especially interesting was the one with a photo of women in between fire and a boulder. The message that I found from the piece was that no matter what women do, they are stuck in between two terribly horrible things: a boulder and fire. This piece successfully depicts the way women are oppressed. Women are being held to certain standards, they have to act and talk a certain way and if they aren’t then they are judged and looked badly upon. Another piece I found to be captivating was the huge cage in the the room. It was the first piece that caught my eye. After examining the piece for awhile more, I realized that Weibel is trying to say that women are caged up. For many centuries, women were always the ones at home, taking care of the children and not being allowed to do anything. In a way, this is them being caged.

As a woman myself, I really related to Weibel’s artwork. I am a soccer fan, specifically a women’s soccer fan and am constantly seemed ignorant by others. They believe that I don’t understand the game. They think that just because I am into soccer, I am masculine, but I just like the game because it is fun to watch. Furthermore, I am also in a STEM major, which is a major dominated by mostly men. I am always told that being a surgeon is a taxing job and that I wouldn’t be able to handle it, and that I should do something more feminine. I am also always told that I need to cross my legs when I sit and that I should put on makeup because that is what girls my age do. All these words and comments from people put a strain on my life, similar to the feeling of being stuck between a boulder and fire.

Leave a Reply

