Week 10 – Art Activity – Fiber Art Social Network

For this week’s activity, I did a fiber art social network of me and my friends. Some of them I met through school and some of them I met through my church.

  1. Do you think of the term “Social Network” as applying to your RL life and your RL, physical friends? Or mostly to Online & Mobile tools that connect you to people in cyberspace? I find that the term social network applies to both my real life friends and my friends online. As long as I interact with my online friends, I think they count as my social network. Even if I don’t interact with them I think it can still count because know what one another is up to depending on what we share on the internet.
  2. Does Dunbar’s Number make sense to you? That we can only have around 150 truly meaningful relationships, and any others we know will be in more fragmentary ways? I think that Dunbar’s Number is too big. I think it is challenging to have up to 150 truly meaning relationships while you are trying to balance other things such as school and work. I think if Dunbar’s Number was to be smaller, it would be more accurate.
  3. What does it mean to have 1,000 or 2,000 or 5,000 Facebook “friends”? Who are these people? What sorts of relationships do you have to them? I think it doesn’t mean anything to have 1,000 or 2,000 or 5,000 Facebook friends if we don’t interact with them. Among those thousands of friends, I think we only talk to a small amount of them . I think those people in the 1,000 Facebook friends can be acquaintances  or family members that live far away that you don’t talk to often but you want to keep an up to date look of their lifestyle.
  4. When we visualized our Art110 Social Network, or when you visualized your personal Social Network, did anything surprise you? Did you find any connections or relationships that you hadn’t thought about or realized any different connections? I found out that I actually knew a lot of classmates due to the classmate conversations as well as from previous classes that I might have had with them. I didn’t realize how connected I was with everyone through mutual friends. Further, I didn’t realize that a classmate conversation could be a way of connecting us because I would interview them and not really talk to them ever again.
  5. What’s your Personal Number? How many people would you like to have close relationships with in your life? 1? 10? 100? 1,000? I have about eight close friends that I talk to on a daily basis. I think eight or ten is a good amount of close relationships for me because if I were to have too many close relationships I would not be able to do everything that I want to do and I might not be able to talk to everyone. As a result, some people might feel abandoned and think of me as a bad friend.
  6. Do you have more “friends” on Facebook or some other platform than are truly your “friends”? What is your relationship to those “extra friends”? Have these weak ties ever brought you new resources like a job opening, someone to date, a cool event, info for something you were working on, etc? I think I have more friends on Snapchat in that Snapchat is like the new and cool social media platform and as a result more of my friends have a Facebook whereas other platforms such as Twitter are not very common. On Snapchat, my relationship with the ‘extra friends’ are that I do not personally ‘snap’ them and we just look at one another’s snapchat stories. On the other hand, the friends that I am close with we send each other ‘snaps’ of ourselves and we have a ‘streak’, which is when we send each other snaps every day consecutively, going on. I think the weak ties have yet to bring me any new resources.
Leave a Reply

